Congratulations to our Men’s Premier League team on winning the 2018 title and going back to back. It was a great day at the club on Saturday, December the 1st hosting both the Men’s & Women Grand Finals, and better yet, having both team play in them.

You can read the wrap from Tennis Victoria below but from a club point of view, the culture both the teams created over the season was fantastic to see. A real competitive group of people who showed great sportsmanship and comradery, but most of all, had a good time playing team tennis representing our club.

The great season was capped off with a couple of individual awards as well. For the second year in a row, a member of our club won the Paul Arber award for sportsmanship and dedication to club competition. This year the award went to Lucas Vuradin after Aaron Addison won it last year. Thanks to our captain Aaron for all his work during the season, and everyone who played in the team over the season.

Another great season from our women falling at the final hurdle. Amazing to see 10 members of the team come along and support on Grand Final day including Cara Black being an on court coach in the doublers. Great to see Astra, Emily & Tamara make their Premier League Debuts for the club. Thanks to our captain, Gen Lorbergs for once again doing so much for the team and helping to create a great team club culture.

On the individual front again, Seone Mendez was named the Premier League player of the season for the women.


The Tennis Victoria Premier League season has produced an enthralling conclusion on Grand Final day at MCC Glen Iris Valley Tennis Club on Saturday afternoon.

Liston Tennis Club (women) and MCC Glen Iris Valley Tennis Club (men) both successfully defended their titles in front a bumper crowd, and with hundreds also joining the livestream coverage of the event.

Tennis Victoria Premier League is the state’s highest level inter-club competition in which clubs battle it out for a total prize money pool of $20,000 in the men’s and women’s competitions.

Liston and MCC Glen Iris Valley were extremely competitive in the doubles, splitting the results to go into the singles rubbers 1-1. Star Liston recruit Destanee Aiava, with partner Alison Bai, stalled the gun duo of Jaimee Fourlis and Zoe Hives 7-5 7-6. On the neighbouring court, the MCC Glen Iris Valley’s Astra Sharma and Jess Moore pairing almost let their exceptional start mean nothing after claiming victory in a third set super tiebreaker, 6-0 6-7 11-9.

Aiava and Fourlis then setup a mouth-watering clash worthy of a grand slam first round match, however, the result was heavily in favour of Liston, with Aiava winning 6-2 6-1. Isabelle Wallace then did it the hard way as she defeated Astra Sharma 6-3 2-6 10-8. As the Grand Final only plays to a result, Liston was able to claim sets in both the remaining rubbers, thus winning their third-consecutive Tennis Victoria Premier League title.

MCC Glen Iris Valley’s men’s team started with a point to prove. Following last year’s disappointing Grand Final day washout, MCC Glen Iris Valley was quite convincing in the doubles rubbers, winning both in straight sets. The hotly contested matches saw some fireworks with the audience captivated by the intense play.

Finishing the regular season on top of the ladder, Bundoora were not going down without a fight. Jeremy Beale overcame a slow start to overpower Blake Mott 7-6 6-1. Beale’s serve and forehand did the damage with a host of aces and unreturnables.

William Ma then pulled off a staggering win by defeating Peter Luczak 6-2 2-6 11-9. The rubber levelled the day and got the crowd into the event as the final two singles matches would need to decide the result. Lucas Vuradin and Matthew Romios began their encounter trading long service games before a crucial break of serve proved the difference for Vuradin – the 2018 Paul Arber award recipient. The second set seemed to coincide perfectly with the neighbouring court as Aaron Addison and Stefan Vujic were battling it out. Addison defeated Vujic 6-2 6-2, moments before Vuradin sealed the team’s result with his singles victory 6-3 6-2.

Both this year’s winners (Liston and MCC Glen Iris Valley) won the 2018 season needing to also win their semi-final, as MCC Glen iris Valley (women) and Bundoora finished the season in first position.

The day also saw the unveiling of awards during the official presentations at the beginning of the day:

Community Engagement Awards
Men: Glenburn TC
Women: Hume TCC and Liston TC

ACE Awards
Men: Stefan Vujic
Women: Seone Mendez

Paul Arber Awards
Men: Lucas Vuradin
Women: Gabriella Da Silva Fick

Premiers Men MCC Glen Iris 2019


  • Premiers Men MCC Glen Iris 2019


Latest Videos

Message from server: Not Found. Check in YouTube if the id VidaTennis belongs to a user. To locate the id of your user check the FAQ of the plugin.